E’Ville Farmers Market Moves & Honor Society Salutes Students

Posted · Add Comment
E’Ville Farmers Market Moves
Locates to Lawn at Town Hall Beginning Friday, June 21: Runs Fridays through Oct. 4
Leo McCarthy


After being located for the last three years at the Church of Christ on Elizabeth St, the Ellicottville Farmers Market will be moving to its new location on the front lawn of the Ellicottville Town Hall. Organizers felt that although the old location was more than adequate, it was a little off the beaten path and the Town Hall corner location would be much more visible to vehicle and pedestrian traffic. 


The Ellicottville Farmers Market is sponsored and managed by a local organization known as REAP which stands for Rural Enterprising Association of Proprietors. REAP is a non-profit corporation created 27 years ago by a group of southern tier New York farmers who were looking for ways to get their farm products directly onto the tables of local consumers.  In recent years, being able to buy fresh produce and other products straight from local farms has gained popularity as more and more people become better educated and aware about the advantages of buying fresh and eating healthy.  REAP was at the forefront of this trend and has a system of farm market management in place which is second to none.

Three years ago, when the Ellicottville Church of Christ realized there was no central place to buy local farm fresh products and decided to set up a Farmers Market on their church property – they called REAP and got the ball rolling. The Church of Christ also operates the Nazareth Food Pantry from their church building on Elizabeth St. and along with non perishable products, offers vouchers for clients to use to purchase produce from the farmers market.

This years Farmers Market will be held every Friday from Noon to 5pm on the front lawn of the Ellicottville Town/Village Hall at the corner of Rt. 242 and 219 on the West end of the Village beginning on Friday June 21st,  and run till October 4th.  

Although the actual number of vendors and products will vary from week to week, there is almost always a good assortment of farm fresh vegetables and other products like flowers, shrubs, honey, maple syrup, baked goods, crafts and hand-made clothing that will be available. 

For more information on the Ellicottville Farmers Market, or if you would like to join REAP and become a vendor – please contact either Don Wild at 716-945-4649 or Bob Brockman at 716-699-4145.


Honor Society Salutes Students
Awards Dinner in Olean Tributes National Honor Society Students from 12 Schools in County
By Nicholas Pircio


   “Truly amazing” is how guest speaker University President Sister Margaret Carney of St. Bonaventure University described the accomplishments of National Honor Society students at the 42nd Annual Recognition Dinner held on May first at the Premier Banquet Center in Olean. About 400 students and adults were present for the banquet, which pays tribute to Honor Society members from the twelve Cattaraugus County schools. 

    Sister Margaret reflected on the values of character, scholarship, leadership, and service which are espoused by the National Honor Society.  She shared the stories of two persons who possessed these attributes, saying they, “Really transformed the world, and for the second of them, even (helped) create this region of western New York.”  The first role model, John Harrison, solved the biggest technical problem facing 17th century navigators.  His invention, the maritime chronometer, was eventually adopted as the standard mechanism for solving the problem of how to establish an accurate measure of longitude.  Before the chronometer, ships, lives, cargoes, and naval battles were all lost, because there was no way to be sure of the accuracy of any given location.

  The second person mentioned by Sister Margaret was Nicholas Devereaux, the land developer who, along with others such as Dewitt Clinton and Martin Van Buren, persevered in the dream to build the Erie Canal and thus open up the country for economic development.  The Erie Canal, said Sister Margaret, “Was in the nineteenth century what the internet is for us today. It was the linkage that gave New York the right to call itself the Empire State.” 

  Sister Margaret told the students that these men persevered against enormous odds to achieve their goals.  “They were incredible examples of qualities you possess and that you are being asked to hold on to as bedrock foundations for the rest of your life. They (the men mentioned) did it so that our generations would prosper.”

  At the awards dinner, five scholarships in honor of the originators of the recognition banquet were awarded to students who competed on academic achievement and writing ability.  The recipients were:

   Lee Frair Scholarship–Emily Simon, Portville Central School • Mary Elizabeth Eaton Scholarship—Rachel McMahon-Eagan, Ellicottville Central School • Raymond Leahy Scholarship—John Peterson, Randolph Central School • James Doyle Scholarship—Marcus Enser, West Valley Central School

Betty Pappas Scholarship—Robert Devling, Olean High School

   Plaques to the Outstanding Chapter Member of each school were presented by Mr. Michael McCann, Dinner Chairman, to:

   Kaylee McRae, Allegany-Limestone Central School • Grace Powers, Archbishop Walsh Academy • Daniel Vasconcellos, Cattaraugus-Little Valley School • Shannon Wilson, Ellicottville Central School • Whitney Farrand, Franklinville Central School • Courtney Lentz, Hinsdale Central School • Robert Devling, Olean High School • Sydney Taylor, Pioneer Central School • Emily Simon, Portville School • Morgan Fiebelkorn, Randolph School • Jill Magara, Salamanca School • Marcus Enser, West Valley School.

   An additional award, the Scholastic Excellence Award, was presented to one recipient from each school. The selection was based on the highest combined SAT score on any one test date for a Senior Honor Society member from each school.  Awards were given by Mrs. Mary Yates to:

   Jessica Mall, Allegany-Limestone • Andrew Weber, Archbishop Walsh • Lisa Taapken, Cattaraugus-Little Valley • Rachel McMahon-Eagan, Ellicottville • Whitney Farrand, Franklinville • Matthew Davis, Hinsdale • Soumitri Barua, Olean High • Matthew Mitchell, Pioneer • Emily Simon, Portville • John Peterson, Randolph • Kyler Whitcomb, Salamanca • Jessica Baker, West Valley

   Miss Betty Pappas, committee member, distributed the Distinguished Service Awards.  The award goes to the “unsung hero” member of each school.  Recipients were:

   Jordan Giardini, Allegany-Limestone • Grace Powers, Archbishop Walsh • Logan Martin, Cattaraugus-Little Valley • William Murphy, Ellicottville • Trent Dingman, Franklinville • Thao Huynh, Hinsdale • Ian Patrick, Olean • Ryan Merlau, Pioneer • Andrea Seib, Portville • Peter Vincent, Randolph • Jordan Simpson, Salamanca • Steven Durandetto, West Valley